Jump to content


Photo

What's Your Current Pc System ?


  • Please log in to reply
920 replies to this topic

#41 argentea

argentea

    Digital Artist

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Location:Shenzhen
  • Interests:Digital Paintings, Music, Cars, PCgames, Fishing , Photography, Movies

Posted 02 July 2004 - 11:47 AM

sana nga. para sa half-life 2 talaga tong current pc ko.

The minimum system spec is currently targeted at a 700 MHz PC with 128 MB RAM and a DX6-level video card, eg: TNT2 etc, meaning you won't need a supercomputer to run Half-Life 2 but don't expect to see reflective water,dynamic shadows and bump-mapped textures.

The game running at reasonable detail eg: 25/40 fps, requires a 1600Mhz cpu, 256 mb ram, GeForce4 Ti or Ati Radeon card.

In real life you need the best from a new game so I would recommend a 2000 cpu, or higher 512 mb ram or higher, GeForce4 Ti4800 128 ddr or ATI Radeon 9600 pro.
IF you've got the money ATI Radeon 9800 pro. or Geforce FX5900 ultra
The more power the better but not essential with this game.

#42 dehadista

dehadista

    Hit & Run!

  • (04) Casual
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:too many places; all at once

Posted 02 July 2004 - 11:30 PM

cool system pareng dehadista, have you tried Far Cry with your system? how did it go? I think the standard norm nowadays is to upgrade our system every 6 months.

pare,

so far, after reading all the posts here regarding the ideal specs for FAR CRY, i'm feeling less inclined to try out the game sa PC ko... but what the heck. maybe i'll give it a spin one of these days... i'll tell u if its good with my system.

anyway, with the upgrades... haaay naku. tama ka dyan pare. its every six months or so. but i'm taking it easy. every year na lang. tapos dahan-dahan. watch out for the power supplies out there.. be sure to match it up with the UPS. learned it the hard way...fried my HD and lost 15 GB of MP3s... :blush:

#43 dehadista

dehadista

    Hit & Run!

  • (04) Casual
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:too many places; all at once

Posted 02 July 2004 - 11:32 PM

I got an AMD Barton 2500+ proc, EPOX 8rda3i motherboard, 512 DDR400, 40 GB 72rpm Maxtor, Tornado geforce 4 mx440-8x 128mb, Soundblaster 5.1 soundcard.

I dont know anything about these stuffs. I just asked my friend if he can give me tips on what to buy for a PC and those are the stuffs he recommended, so I bought them. It cost me an overall of 35K. Is it worth it?

pare maganda na yan.. pero get a decent cooling system since you're using AMD. :D i have the same MOBO with my other PC. no complaints here.

#44 hsmeilop

hsmeilop

    hubag-ga ate oi!!!!

  • (12) Mega Poster
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8438 posts
  • Location:sa lahug
  • Interests:MTC, Volkswagens, Cockfighting, Computers, Sci-Fi books, Fencing, Chess, Star Wars, SAP2, ingrowns. :D

Posted 17 July 2004 - 09:34 PM

i think i have an intel p4 2.6mhz, 512 ddr, 2x40gb 7200rpm seagate. 64mb 5200 video card. pretty fast computer for my applications. hehehe... watching dvds, chatting and MTC!!!! a little coreldraw and photoshop pala for work. :D

#45 masterblaster

masterblaster

    Your Nightmare Your Demise

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1641 posts
  • Location:me
  • Interests:me

Posted 18 July 2004 - 05:51 AM

ECS 848P P4 MOBO 800 FSB with 8X AGP, 2 SATA, 2 ATA 100, 6-ch audio, 10/100 LAN, 4 USB, Intel chipset, HT
Pentium 4 2.4 GHz HT 1 MB L2 Cache 533 FSB processor
512 DDR memory
Diamond Stealth S60 with RADEON 7000, 4x AGP, 32 MB DDR with TV out
120 GB Maxtor Ultra ATA/133
Bluetooth Adapter
1 CD-RW 1 Floppy

Cost me $400 to assemble.

#46 masterblaster

masterblaster

    Your Nightmare Your Demise

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1641 posts
  • Location:me
  • Interests:me

Posted 18 July 2004 - 06:07 AM

Just upgraded my system a month ago from an Athlon XP 1500. Since I would be changing the motherboard anyway if I upgraded to a faster Athlon chip, I decided to give Intel a try once more, The specs are:

Pentium 4 2.8c HT
Kingston 526mb ddr 400 ram
ECS Motherboard on intel 865 chipset 800mhz fsb
geforce fx5600 video card
80gb HDD
SB Audigy 2 Sound Card
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
17 inch monitor
asus cdrw
sony dvd rom

You would think that with this system, all would be well with my gaming but guess what? It can only play Far Cry at its lowest video settings without experiencing chopiness. To all the techies out there, do you think adding more memory would make a difference?

Adding more memory on the MOBO will somehow help. Window XP uses the first 256 MB of the RAM. What's is left is just 256 Mb for the game itself. Bring it to 1024 MB.

#47 sago

sago

    BeSt SeRv3D CoLd

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:under your skirt

Posted 18 July 2004 - 06:25 AM

pre,

hindi ito lulupit sa mga pc niyo pero makiki-post na din.

AMD Athlon™ XP 2600+ running at 2.9 ghz
Epox Mobo EP-8KRA2I (got the one with the SATA...)
7 fans (inlet, outlet, etc)
Volcano fan / heatsink
Win XP sp 1
Direct X 9.0b

wow nice... i dont wanna be rude pero are u on water cooling?
ive seen athlons running on 2.8+GHz but on water cooling :)

btw, ano yung Vcore mo?

anyways, nice OC. :cool:

#48 sago

sago

    BeSt SeRv3D CoLd

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:under your skirt

Posted 18 July 2004 - 06:32 AM

Pentium 4 2.8c HT
Kingston 526mb ddr 400 ram
ECS Motherboard on intel 865 chipset 800mhz fsb
geforce fx5600 video card

You would think that with this system, all would be well with my gaming but guess what? It can only play Far Cry at its lowest video settings without experiencing chopiness. To all the techies out there, do you think adding more memory would make a difference?

pare try using a BETTER video card :)

sell ur geforce fx5600 and go ATI Radeon 9600PRO or better :cool:

#49 sago

sago

    BeSt SeRv3D CoLd

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:under your skirt

Posted 18 July 2004 - 07:26 AM

pare try using a BETTER video card :)

sell ur geforce fx5600 and go ATI Radeon 9600PRO or better :cool:

for a quick comparison of diff. video cards,you may want to check these links:

for Far Cry.

for Half-Life 2 Beta.

btw, they are using Athlon 64 3200+ and P4 3200 procs.

#50 Oral Specialist

Oral Specialist

    MTC Dentist

  • Ambassador
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Realm of the senses
  • Interests:Weight-lifting, computers, travel, swimming, movies, FUN! hehe

Posted 18 July 2004 - 09:38 AM

Desktop:
Athlon XP Barton Core 2500+ overclocked to 3200+
ATi Radeon 9600XT 256MB
512MB DDR400 RAM
320 Gigs HD space using 4 80 Gig Hard drives
DFI Lanparty Ultra II mobo with 5.1 speaker setup
8x DVD+/-RW burner
16x DVD-ROM drive
400watt power supply
19" monitor

I played and finished Far Cry with this. Smooth as silk. :D

Laptop:
Compaq R3070US
3.0Ghz Pentium 4
ATi Mobility Radeon 9200 64MB
512 MB RAM
80Gig HD
802.11g Wi-fi, bluetooth
WinXP Pro
4x JBL Pro built-in speakers
5-in-1 card reader

Those are my higher end rigs. Medyo tinatamad ako ilagay yung iba. :D

Edited by Oral Specialist, 06 August 2004 - 07:11 PM.


#51 masterblaster

masterblaster

    Your Nightmare Your Demise

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1641 posts
  • Location:me
  • Interests:me

Posted 18 July 2004 - 10:07 AM

Desktop:
Athlon XP Barton Core 2500+ overclocked to 3200+
ATi Radeon 9600XT 128MB
512MB DDR400 RAM
320 Gigs HD space using 4 80 Gig Hard drives
DFI Lanparty Ultra II mobo with 5.1 speaker setup
8x DVD+/-RW burner
16x DVD-ROM drive
400watt power supply
19" monitor

pre, magkano ang estimate mo sa desktop without the DVD-RW and 19" monitor. Pati ano ang equivalent ng setup mo sa Pentium 4 processor speed? Is it better than P4 3 Ghz?

#52 owten

owten

    Chaser

  • (03) Newbie
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 18 July 2004 - 01:04 PM

p4 2.4 a, 40 hdd 7200 rpm, inno3d fx5700 128 mb, 768mb pc400, 400 watts ps, ok
naman sa gaming smooth sa nfsu and far cry

#53 Oral Specialist

Oral Specialist

    MTC Dentist

  • Ambassador
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Realm of the senses
  • Interests:Weight-lifting, computers, travel, swimming, movies, FUN! hehe

Posted 18 July 2004 - 02:59 PM

pre, magkano ang estimate mo sa desktop without the DVD-RW and 19" monitor. Pati ano ang equivalent ng setup mo sa Pentium 4 processor speed? Is it better than P4 3 Ghz?

Hmm...setup ko kasi pushing 40k without the DVD-RW and monitor. Yung Intel may dagdag kaysa sa AMD kaya add at least 5k more. As for the equivalent speed, subjectively speaking, considering that I have 4 hard drives with the swap file in a different drive, it ends up faster than my 3GHz laptop. This is the rig I use for video editing and gaming. :D

#54 dehadista

dehadista

    Hit & Run!

  • (04) Casual
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:too many places; all at once

Posted 18 July 2004 - 11:24 PM

wow nice... i dont wanna be rude pero are u on water cooling?
ive seen athlons running on 2.8+GHz but on water cooling :)

btw, ano yung Vcore mo?

anyways, nice OC. :cool:

actually, am planning to shift sa water cooling.. am researching right now on what to do with this. anyway, so far, no problems pa naman sa system ko.. pero am not pushing my luck with this one.. ibabalik ko muna... :blush:

right now, habang OC ang system, tinatapat ko sa air-con.. hehehe. walang patayan. btw, home PC lang naman kasi... but still planning to upgrade. katakot mag-OC minsan... walang warranty yun eh.

anyway, thanks for the appreciation. :D

#55 masterblaster

masterblaster

    Your Nightmare Your Demise

  • (05) Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1641 posts
  • Location:me
  • Interests:me

Posted 19 July 2004 - 02:30 AM

Hmm...setup ko kasi pushing 40k without the DVD-RW and monitor. Yung Intel may dagdag kaysa sa AMD kaya add at least 5k more. As for the equivalent speed, subjectively speaking, considering that I have 4 hard drives with the swap file in a different drive, it ends up faster than my 3GHz laptop. This is the rig I use for video editing and gaming. :D

Salamat. Mukhang high end nga ang setup mo. How do you find your DFI Lanparty Ultra II MOBO? My ECS 848P works fine but I'm still having a problem in having the onboard 6-ch audio work.

#56 [KupZ]

[KupZ]

    Virgin

  • (02) Sinless
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 July 2004 - 06:06 AM

i'm currently using athlon 3000+ 64 bit
nvidia video card 32MB (dedicated memory)....not a lot but enough for CS
512MB ddr sdram
dvd burner +r
60 gb HD....
JBL pro Speakers.....

anyone using 64 bit OS here??

I'm having a problem with my display compatibilty. I'm not sure if linux have a driver for wxga tft display.....

#57 Oral Specialist

Oral Specialist

    MTC Dentist

  • Ambassador
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Realm of the senses
  • Interests:Weight-lifting, computers, travel, swimming, movies, FUN! hehe

Posted 19 July 2004 - 12:28 PM

Salamat. Mukhang high end nga ang setup mo. How do you find your DFI Lanparty Ultra II MOBO? My ECS 848P works fine but I'm still having a problem in having the onboard 6-ch audio work.

I like the mobo a lot! It has lots of extras and overclocking is a cinch! I'm using firewire to network 3 comps and the included ports are a godsend. It has 6 channel sound but I had to configure it so that the center channel comes out of the microphone socket in the back. Something about the wiring I think. :unsure:

I have a Sound Blaster Audigy that I installed for a few weeks in the rig but with all the errors and crashes I was getting I decided to remove it. Now it's just on a shelf gathering dust. :angry:

#58 Oral Specialist

Oral Specialist

    MTC Dentist

  • Ambassador
  • 2751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Realm of the senses
  • Interests:Weight-lifting, computers, travel, swimming, movies, FUN! hehe

Posted 19 July 2004 - 12:34 PM

,Jul 19 2004, 06:06 AM] i'm currently using athlon 3000+ 64 bit
nvidia video card 32MB (dedicated memory)....not a lot but enough for CS
512MB ddr sdram
dvd burner +r
60 gb HD....
JBL pro Speakers.....

anyone using 64 bit OS here??

I'm having a problem with my display compatibilty. I'm not sure if linux have a driver for wxga tft display.....

Dude you're holding your computer back with that vid card of yours! :lol: Is that a laptop? Anyway, personally I'm waiting 'til PCI Express becomes prevalent before I upgrade to an Athlon64. I'm also waiting for the new chipset to come out. As for linux drivers, since it's open source, perhaps you can write your own? :unsure:

#59 raven4180

raven4180

    Experienced

  • (03) Newbie
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 19 July 2004 - 05:05 PM

Pentium IV - 2.4 Ghz
256 MB DDR266
60GB HardDisk
128MB NVidia FX5200
DVD ROM
CD-RW/DVD Combo

#60 stpatr3k

stpatr3k

    Looker

  • (04) Casual
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts

Posted 21 July 2004 - 11:21 AM

Celeron 266MHz (PII level)
256 MB running at 66MHz only
3Gig HD
Geforce MX440 64DDR
borrowed cdrom
19" Samsung 955DF

running windows XP Pro MWAHAHA

Walang speakers di makabet sa KVM hehe baka gusto nyo ng KVM may binebenta ko hehe




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)