Need your advice advertising dudes/chicks....

I've been trying to break into this industry for a long time now, i've been stuck in a job i don't really care about for such a long time, but i feel advertising is where i want to be. I graduated with a degree from such an unrelated subject (human resources), and i'm thinking that maybe this is what is holding me back.

Any tips for me on how to break into the wild and wooly world of advertising? Kahit accounts lang, pano ko kayo pasukin yon? Kahit below the line, kahit ano....

salamat

:mtc:

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 1 month later...
Guest uglykid

Hi Larry, I was once a part of the advertising world. I'm now glad that I was able to come out of that hellhole alive.

Just PM me if you want to learn about my story :)

dude,

I used to ba an account manager for TV programs such as the Metropolitan Basketball Association, Philippine Basketball Association and ABS CBN sports before..

just tell me your story and i would help you anyway I can, I have known some good people in the advertising industry!!

ad agencies, clients, you name it!!!

I spent a virtual lifetime in advertising before I switched to media a couple of years ago.

The main thing that will keep you out of the industry is lack of experience, or so the HR people will claim.

But if you think you've got what it takes to move those products off the shelves, a lack of experience, the proper college background or whatever shouldn't hold you back.

Here's what I did eons ago to get in: call up any and all ad agencies that you can. Ask them for whatever openings are there. Then go visit them, drop off your resume, talk to whoever will listen, and, by dang, sell yourself, dude. It's a world run by good ideas, so if you're ideas are top-notch, you have a shot.