Slipped Disc

Air Ween

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Surgery. Either by a simple repair of the affected vertebra(e) or to the more complex fusion and/or rodding of the spine.

Both procedures are expensive. I am not sure which hospitals/MD in the RP can do this procedure. Which is expensive I might add but well worth it if done by well trained hands.

Kung short term pain relief lang you may have steroid injections on the area.

<<<BTW, I'm not a doctor so it's still better to consult one. B)

hi guys, am not a doctor but here's something i found useful from the NHS direct health encyclopedia:

Treatment

In 90% of cases the pain from a slipped disc gets better on its own and does not require surgery. However, the process may take some time. For most people the condition gets a lot better within about six weeks.

The first step to treating a slipped disc is to make sure that you do not make it any worse. You should avoid any form of lifting for three months to allow the disc to heal and you should take care not to strain or bend. You should stay active instead of lying in bed, as most doctors no longer recommend bed rest for back pain. However, you may need to rest on whatever surface is most comfortable until the initial intense pain of the injury has subsided.

Your GP may prescribe a painkiller or recommend one you can buy from the chemist, such as paracetamol or ibuprofen. Ibuprofen is not recommended if you have a history of asthma, kidney, or liver disease.

Physiotherapy, exercise and massage can all be considered. Studies so far on the subject have not been very conclusive but it is thought that spinal manipulation from a chiropractor, physiotherapist, or an osteopath may help take the pressure off the nerves that are being pressed by the damaged disc.